Skip to content

Back to the Basics … Kind Of

June 9, 2011

Everyday I feel like I’m starting my diet over again. So I’ve decided to just stop dieting.

No I’ve not resigned myself to gaining three hundred pounds while sitting on the couch watching Law and Order: SVU marathons — although we can all admit that last part wouldn’t be too bad. It’s a good show after all.

So here are my solutions for staying healthy while still satisfying my picky taste buds. I took the basics of life — eggs, hamburgers, spaghetti, veggies — and revamped them to work while making them a little healthier and a little more adult.

Spinach and Feta Egg Surprise

I added surprise to the name because I couldn’t think of what else to call this dish. Breakfast is always a struggle for me.

I work early and the last few months its either almond butter on an English muffin or fast food. I’ve exhausted the first and my waistline can’t take the second.

So I decided to make something hearty that I could pack the night before, take with me, nuke and eat.

Ingredients:

Egg white (I suggest the cartons that you can get, they’ll be next to the carton of eggs in the store)

1 bag of Spinach

1 small Onion

4 Cloves of Garlic

4-ounces of Feta Cheese

1 Cup of Milk (fat-free keeps it healthier)

Saute the spinach with the garlic, salt and pepper in some olive oil. The spinach will seem to overwhelm your pan at first, but continue tossing it and it will get down to size in no time.

Spray a casserole dish then pour in your egg whites and milk. Slowly add spinach (drained of the oil) and half of the feta. Cook on medium for five minutes on the stove top then place in over at 350 degrees.

After fifteen minutes, take the egg surprise out of the oven and put under the broiler. When eggs solidify, sprinkle remainder of the feta cheese on top, put back in the over until golden brown.

Slice up and eat.

Turkey Burger with Portobello Mushrooms and Gouda

1-pound Ground Turkey

Gouda Cheese

Portobello Mushrooms

1 Egg

1/2 chopped onion

2 cups Bread Crumbs

2-Tablespoons Worcestershire Sauce

Preheat an outdoor grill for medium heat and lightly oil the grate. Beat the egg and onion together in a mixing bowl. Add the turkey, bread crumbs, liquid smoke, Worcestershire sauce, mushrooms, salt and pepper. Mix until evenly combined and form into patties.

Cook the turkey burgers on the preheated grill until no longer pink in the center and the juices run clear, about 4 minutes per side. An instant-read thermometer inserted into the center should read at least 165 degrees F (74 degrees C).

Patties are done – now make yourself a burger!

Asparagus Done Right

I love asparagus, but I’m pretty picky with how I like to eat it. My mom, obviously, makes it the best so I’m stealing her simple recipe:

1-pound fresh or frozen asparagus

3-cloves chopped garlic

1 Shallot

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Pepper

Cut asparagus to get rid of the hard ends and, if you’d like, you can cut it to make it more bite size. I like to keep mine fairly long. Pour a thin layer of olive oil over the pan. Lay asparagus out on cooking sheet along with cut shallots and add more olive oil to top of asparagus.

Sprinkle garlic, salt and pepper over asparagus and shallots. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

Serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 1:45 pm

    I love roasted asparagus. And if this is diet food, I’m on a diet too.:)

  2. Jim permalink
    July 5, 2011 7:46 pm

    Totally stalked you down and I’m going to now steal your (moms) asparagus recipe. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

