Skip to content

Crafting for Softballers

June 20, 2011

I joined a softball team. For the first time in my 24 years of life I am participating in a team sport.

After the first game, the realization of why I avoided athletics during my childhood became painfully evident. To put it simply, I suck.

However, I don’t care. I joined the team to have fun and exercise. I never expected to be a rising softball star.

The thing I’ve noticed, aside from how scary a ball can be flying through the air threatening to mash your nose in, is that softball is not a very cute sport.

So I wanted to try and cuten it up. Every week my roommates and I add a little something, something to try a look nicer.

The first week we were just pathetic looking. Since then, we’ve gotten our hideous jerseys, awesome long socks and cute matching ribbons.

Now, I’m hoping to add some bracelets: Softball Seam Bracelets

Things You’ll Need:

Softball

Utility Knife

Scissors

Velcro strip with adhesive backing

How to:

  • Place the softball on a hard, stable surface. With one hand, hold the ball firmly. With the other, carefully grasp a utility knife.

  • Slice the skin of the softball along the seam with the utility knife. Leave approximately one-half inch of skin on either side. Keep the cut smooth, and neatly follow along the pattern of the seam until the entire seam is free of the skin.
  • Remove the seam and the half inch of skin that is on both sides from the softball. Once removed, you should have an elongated, circular-shaped piece of softball skin with attached seam.

  • Cut the softball seam to fit your wrist, and trim both sides of the attached skin until the softball seam bracelet is the width that you would like.

  • Trim the Velcro strip to approximately one-half inch in length. The Velcro that is sold in strips is connected, meaning that the male and female piece are joined and can be pulled apart. Separate the connected strip and remove the paper backing from each of the Velcro pieces, exposing the adhesive.

  • Attach the female side of the Velcro to one end of the softball seam bracelet by pressing it onto the “inside” of the bracelet, adhesive side down. Attach the male side of the Velcro to the “outside” of the other end of the bracelet, also adhesive side down. Press the Velcro down firmly to secure it. Wrap the bracelet around your wrist and join with the Velcro.

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 1:37 pm

    I want one

Leave a Reply

