Skip to content

Chalkboard Projects

August 16, 2011

After becoming addicted to multiple television shows about picking, reading Salvage Sisters and having completed every craft on my list I found the greatest place on earth.

To some, this place would appear to be a glorified dump with a couple cute signs thrown in. To me and my thrifty family it was heaven.

My family took a week-long vacation traveling from the Panhandle of Florida to Amelia Island and then to Savannah, Ga., and boy did we have fun.

We hit up every antique store in the south and along the way stumbled upon this gem of a store: Junk in the Trunk in Yulee, Fla.

Once I can figure out how to upload the high-resolution pictures you can see all the sights from the store.

As for the craft of the day: I’ve been wanting to use this can of chalkboard paint I picked up on sale at Walmart a few weeks ago.

I like using chalkboard paint because you can make anything a chalkboard. Find an old mirror, a cute frame, a blank surface — the possibilities are endless.

We found some neat trays rusting and looking like they had no life in them. A little painters tape and a spray of the can of paint and voila, a new piece of art for the house.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 10:25 am

    I was looking for Junk in the Trunk shop address, and your blog came up 🙂 I’m glad it did because you have awesome content in here! I’ll definitely be coming back to read your latest post 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

