Skip to content

Have a Sit, Please

August 29, 2011

I’ve been wanting to start learning how to upholster, so this weekend I decided to start little and eventually, perhaps, work my way up to some larger projects.

My first upholstery projects were simple, but you have to start small. I took some old chairs my parents had stored in their shed and gave them new life and a new home in my apartment.

This lovely chair has been sitting in my parents shed for some time. After giving it a good cleaning and stomping away any leftover spiders I was ready to roll.

We started with a piece of 15 x 17 inch foam (You can get this at JoAnn’s fabric, Walmart or any craft store) and sized it to fit the piece the chair. We then attached in to a piece of wood we sized for the chair.

Make sure there is plenty of room when you place your foam and wood down so that you can tuck and staple excess fabric.

For this next part you’ll need a staple gun. Neatly pull your fabric over the wood and staple, making sure your pulling evenly so the seat doesn’t look lumpy.

Go all the way around, and secure those corners extra well. Screw the wooden frame into the chair and voila! *Before attaching the seat, I painted the chair with crackle paint, waited an hour and then added a layer of off white paint to get the old look it has.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 1:15 pm

    Great job on the chair – I have done a little upholstery, but not a chair of this type yet…well done!

    • September 8, 2011 12:49 pm

      Thanks! It was super easy and its always fun to shop for fabric 🙂

  2. Ellie permalink
    August 29, 2011 1:21 pm

    Beautiful job. You’re so handy!

Leave a Reply

