Skip to content

Hunger Games

March 18, 2012

It’s almost here!

I’m so stinkin’ excited for the Hunger Games, so much so that during a visit to a friend’s lovely abode we had Hunger Games craft time.

Instead of going all out with our dressing up we made Hunger Games inspired items.

You can trace this image on your computer and use it to cut out your very own mockingjay.

20120317-195420.jpg

Use the above image to get the cutout for the mockingjay. Then cutout the image on felt and hot glue to a headband, clip or pin.

Next is the Effie Trinket inspired head piece:

20120317-200345.jpg

For this you'll need felt, feathers and a flat metal hair clip, which can all be found at any craft store.

Next up is an Effie inspired pin – made of felt, feathers & a flat hair clip.

20120317-200446.jpg

Cut your felt in an oval shape, then cut that out beginning on the outside in a spiral form. With the strip of felt, start from the outside and roll to get the flower shape. Hot glue the flower together, then grab some feather and hot glue all to the hair clip.

Then we have a “Girl on fire” inspired necklace:

20120317-201605.jpg

Use a plain necklace, which can be picked up at any craft store. Then use fire-colored feathers and black beads to signify coal. Hot glue together.

20120318-194120.jpg

That's me, demonstrating how fly you can look in the Girl on Fire necklace.

Here’s an adorable Rue inspired bracelets:

20120318-131725.jpg

Sorry this is blurry, I'll update with a better one. For this, grab an old leather bracelet or any thick fabric and glue on green beads (since Rue was all about the agriculture.)

Such a fun weekend & I’m super stoked for the movie this weekend!

20120318-131819.jpg

20120318-131837.jpg

20120318-131846.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 1:43 am

    These are so cool! I have yet to read this series! I need to get on that. I think my favorite is the headband. Nice work!

  2. March 18, 2012 2:47 am

    This is delightfully geeky! I haven’t read the books yet, but once the 20 people ahead of me in the library queue are done I’m going to.
    I love your eclectic posts and look forward to your future work. I’m giving you the Liebster Blog Award – keep up the great work!

  3. March 19, 2012 12:09 am

    It is the most geeky! You both have to read them ASAP (and if I’m being completely honest, I read the whole series in about a week and a half so you can do it!) Let me know what you think!

  4. Amy Allender permalink
    March 19, 2012 10:58 pm

    I love the photos from our crafternoon. Esp that random one of Autumn…Also, I am so glad you took a photo of your headband. I’m making one tonight. And my self portrait never turn out great. {you’ve seen them}. Congrats on getting the Liebster #2!!

Trackbacks

  1. Let the Games Begin! | Just Call Me Miss DIY

Leave a Reply

